transmediale Award 2010

Vilem Flusser Theory Award 2010

festival for art and digital culture berlin
03 – 07 February 2010

CTM – club transmediale.10
festival for adventurous music and related visual arts
29 January – 6 February 2010

Call for Entries

Deadline: 31 July 2009
Award Ceremony: 6 February 2010, Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin

Complete call, registration information and online submission form:

As leading international festivals for art and digital culture as well as adventurous music and related visual arts, respectively, transmediale and CTM (club transmediale) are inviting submissions to the transmediale Award Competition 2010 and the Vilem Flusser Theory Award 2010. Invited are art works, projects and positions that respond to the challenges of our rapidly changing digital, technological and networked cultures. The transmediale Award seeks innovative, experimental and visionary works across a wide scope of form, process and practice that embrace, question and enrich our understanding and relationship to our immersed media and technologically driven society. Entries that exemplify new and critical forms of digital expression and interaction are encouraged, as are works from countries and regions in which digital art and culture are emergent. Submissions of art works for both festivals participate in the transmediale Award 2010 while theoretical abstracts, papers and research oriented positions are invited for the Vilem Flusser Theory Award, with prizes totaling €10.000.

transmediale presents and pursues the advancement of artistic positions reflecting on the socio-cultural, political and creative impact of new technologies, network practices and digital innovation. As a festival aiming to define the contours of contemporary digital culture, it seeks out artistic practices that not only respond to scientific or technical developments, but that shape the way in which we think about and experience the technologies which impact virtually all aspects of our daily lives. As such, transmediale understands media technologies as cultural and aesthetic techniques that need to be embraced in order to comprehend, critique, and shape global societies.

CTM (club transmediale) is dedicated to contemporary electronic, digital and experimental music and sound creation, as well as the diverse range of artistic activities and social practises that develop within and connect to those audio cultures. Thus, the festival reflects on the agency of contemporary sound creation within the cultural fabric of society and its technological and social transformations. It explores the intersections of contemporary music and audio art with other artistic forms and cultural fields. A special emphasis is put on the creative use of new technologies, the interplay of sound with other media formats, the situational potential of live performances, the formation of social networks, and the advancement of a positive form of globalization.

Previous transmediale Award winners have included renowned artists such as Herman Asselberghs, Shilpa Gupta, Graham Harwood / Richard Wright / Matsuko Yokokoji, Zhou Hongxiang, Istvan Kantor, Thomas Koener, Julia Meltzer/David Thorne, Agnes Meyer-Brandis, Netochka Nezvanova, schoenerwissen,, Adrian Ward, Herwig Weiser and 242.pilots. The Vilem Flusser Theory Award, in collaboration with the _Vilem_Flusser_Archive of the University of Arts (UdK) Berlin, has been awarded to Simon Yuill (2008), Denis Roio aka jaromil and Brian Holmes (2009).

Jury of the transmediale Award 2010 are Michelle Kasprzak (Edinburgh), Jose Luis de Vicente (Barcelona/Madrid), Li Zhenhua (Beijing/Zurich), Yves Bernard (Brussels), Doreen Mende (Berlin/Karlsruhe).

Vilem Flusser Theory Award 2010 advisory committee members include Marcel Marburger (_Vilem_Flusser_Archive, Berlin), Oliver Grau (Danube University Krems) and Sabeth Buchmann (Academy of Fine Arts, Vienna)

transmediale Advisory Board are Alex Adriaansens (Rotterdam), Dr. Marie Cathleen Haff (Berlin), Prof. Saskia Sassen (New York), Yukiko Shikata (Tokyo).

transmediale is a project of the Kulturprojekte Berlin GmbH, in cooperation with the House of World Cultures and funded by the German Federal Cultural Foundation.
CTM is a project by DISK / club transmediale GbR funded by Hauptstadtkulturfonds and DISK Initiative Bild & Ton e.V.

stephen kovats
artistic director

back to top

We value your privacy

To make sure that this website remains accessible in the European Union, we are forced to include this superfluous notice to inform you that this website, like most of the websites in the world, works best with cookies. We do not profile you or use the data for any commercial purposes except to study ways to enhance user experience in ours sites. We hope that you are happy with that, and that you will help us continue this research by accepting our cookies but, unlike with other websites, surfing our site in privacy is still possible should you decide not to. You can find out more about our use of cookies by reading our privacy policy.