Award and competition for public art commissions

FIRST@108 is an award designed to offer Sculptors an opportunity to extend their practice into competing for public art commissions.

We are delighted to open the 2011 award which is made possible by the generous support of philanthropists.

Five short listed sculptors will:

  • be paid a fee of £500 for the design and submission of a maquette.
  • participate in the exhibition of short listed work in the RBS Studio Gallery in February – March 2011.
  • be included in the FIRST@108 Award catalogue.

The winning sculptor, announced during the exhibition, will be awarded:

  • £10,000 towards production cost of a work to keep or sell (reasonable transport and installation costs are covered by the scheme)
  • the opportunity for individual mentoring and to participate in the RBS professional development programme.
  • a solo exhibition of the winning work in the Sculpture Forecourt for four months from October 2011 – January 2012.
  • a short accompanying exhibition in the RBS Salon Gallery October 2011.
  • A second exhibition of the winning work at Canary Wharf Spring/Summer 2012.


The award is open to Sculptors of any age and nationality working in any style or media who have yet to be recognised as practitioners in public art.

This is interpreted to mean that you will not yet have won an open (or closed) competition for a commission to create a work for a public space above the value of £15,000.

For those who have received formal training the expectation is that they will have a minimum of three years post education practice.


To create an innovative work on the theme of ‘transition&8217; for temporary exhibition in two different locations. This theme is intentionally open to broad and diverse interpretation.

Expressions of interest

Sculptors who wish to be considered for this award need to submit:

  • a completed application form,
  • 5 digital images of their work (clearly titled and in Jpeg format),
  • CV
  • brief statements about their approach to the award.

Deadline for the receipt of applications: 5 November 2010. All applicants will be informed of the result of their application by 8 December 2010.

back to top

We value your privacy

To make sure that this website remains accessible in the European Union, we are forced to include this superfluous notice to inform you that this website, like most of the websites in the world, works best with cookies. We do not profile you or use the data for any commercial purposes except to study ways to enhance user experience in ours sites. We hope that you are happy with that, and that you will help us continue this research by accepting our cookies but, unlike with other websites, surfing our site in privacy is still possible should you decide not to. You can find out more about our use of cookies by reading our privacy policy.