Prix Ars Electronica 2013

The submission for Prix Ars Electronica 2013 is now open.

The Prix Ars Electronica calls for entries and awards prizes in the following categories:

Computer Animation / Film / VFX
The “Computer Animation / Film / VFX” category has been part of the Prix Ars Electronica since its very inception. It recognizes excellence in independent work in the arts and sciences as well as in high-end commercial productions in the film, advertising and entertainment industries. In this category, artistic originality counts just as much as masterful technical achievement.
Hybrid Art
The “Hybrid Art” category is dedicated specifically to today’s hybrid and transdisciplinary projects and approaches to media art. Primary emphasis is on the process of fusing different media and genres into new forms of artistic expression as well as the act of transcending the boundaries between art and research, art and social/political activism, art and pop culture. Jurors will be looking very closely at how dynamically the submitted work defies classification in a single one of the Prix categories of long standing.
Digital Communities
The “Digital Communities” category focuses on the wide-ranging social and artistic impact of the Internet technology as well as on the latest developments in social software, user generated content, mobile communications, mash-ups and location based services. Digital Communities” focuses on innovation in relation to human coexistence. Its main goals lie in first, bridging the geographical as well as the genderbased digital divide and second, bridging across cultural conflicts and third, supporting cultural diversity and freedom of artistic expression. Digital Communities sheds light on the political and artistic potential of digital and networked systems. As such, “Digital Communities” selects a broad range of projects, applications, artworks, initiatives and phenomena around which social and artistic innovation is taking place, as it were, in real time. Consideration is given to projects dealing with the concept of “Smart City” and especially of “Smart Citizen”, going beyond the purely technological view of a Smart City and focussing on the societal and participatory processes.
Interactive Art
The “Interactive Art” category is dedicated to interactive works in all forms and formats, from installations to performances. At the top of the agenda is artistic quality in the development and design of the interaction as well as a harmonious dialog between the content level and the interaction level – that is, the inherent principles of interaction and the interfaces that implement them. Of particular interest is the sociopolitical relevance of the interaction as manifested by its innate potential to expand the scope of human action. Jurors are looking forward to encountering innovative technological concepts blended with superbly effective design (usability).
Digital Musics & Sound
Contemporary digital sound productions from the broad spectrum of “electronica” come in for consideration in the “ Digital Musics & Sound Art” category, as do works combining sound and media, computer compositions ranging from electro-acoustic to experimental music, as well as sound installations.
[the next idea]
The aim of this art & technology grant bestowed annually by voestalpine and Ars Electronica is to honor new and extraordinarily promising ideas and to support the process of developing them further. Artistic and social innovations are what we’re looking for; technological and scientific approaches too! Whatever it is, the accent should definitely be on striving to conceptualize something in a totally fresh way, advancing it to the next level and significantly enhancing it thereby. Taking the next big step forward.
u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD is the Prix Ars Electronica’s category for young people. It gives kids and youngsters up to age 19 the opportunity to have a say about the world of tomorrow and to produce and present their concepts of and ideas for it. With boldness and creativity, anything’s possible. This is your big chance to really apply your inventive powers to your world – the world we’ll be spending the rest of our lives in.

To participate in the Prix Ars Electronica, you must register online and submit all mandatory information online.

  • A work may be entered in only one category. An artist may submit more than one work.
  • In addition to the general entry details and rules, special entry rules apply to each individual category (see category descriptions).
  • Entrants are requested not to submit irreplaceable originals since submitted materials cannot be returned.
  • Works submitted without the required accompanying material will not be accepted.
  • An entry confirmation will be sent out via e-mail as soon as all required documentation has been received.
  • A submission is complete and formally entered in the competition only if all information has been entered online and the submission has been finalized online.
  • Employees of the organizers, sponsors and patrons of the Prix Ars Electronica, staff members of organizations that have established and endowed an individual category, as well as the competition’s jurors are ineligible to participate.


Works can be nominated online for prize consideration in the individual competition categories until March 01, 2013.

Nominations are recommendations; thus, nominated projects are not automatically entered in the competition. The nominated artists will be contacted by the organizer before the jury convenes. Then, projects must be formally submitted by the artists themselves prior to the entry deadline and in accordance with all competition criteria in order to be entered in the competition.


18th until 21st April, 2013


Winners of Golden Nicas, Awards of Distinction and Honorary Mentions will be notified before end of May, 2013. In the interest of all entrants, we request that the entrant (or a representative named by him/her) be available during the period when winners will be notified at the address etc. specified in the entry form.


The Prix Ars Electronica 2013 awards presentation will take place during the Ars Electronica Festival 2013 in Linz.

Winners of Golden Nicas and Awards of Distinction must make a commitment to accepting their awards in person and to presenting their works at the Prix Ars Electronica Forum, an artist symposium. Groups and institutions are requested to nominate a representative to fulfill this commitment. As guests of Ars Electronica, winners will receive complementaryhotel and economy class airline tickets for their trip to Linz.

back to top

We value your privacy

To make sure that this website remains accessible in the European Union, we are forced to include this superfluous notice to inform you that this website, like most of the websites in the world, works best with cookies. We do not profile you or use the data for any commercial purposes except to study ways to enhance user experience in ours sites. We hope that you are happy with that, and that you will help us continue this research by accepting our cookies but, unlike with other websites, surfing our site in privacy is still possible should you decide not to. You can find out more about our use of cookies by reading our privacy policy.