Cultural Policy Research Award 2008

Call for Applications

The European Cultural Foundation, the Riksbankens Jublileumsfond and the European Network of Cultural Administration and Training Centres (ENCATC) call for applications for the 5th Cultural Policy Research Award 2008.

The winner of the CPR Award 2008, worth €10,000, will be publicly announced on the 16th of October at the International ENCATC Annual Conference taking place in Lyon, France.

Designed to stimulate academic and applied cultural policy research and to explore, through comparative cross-national research, issues at stake in contemporary Europe, and possibly anticipate new cultural policy orientations, the Cultural Policy Research Award (CPRA) has the ambition to contribute to the process of creating an “infrastructure”, a network of scholars who are competent in doing comparative research projects in cultural policy.

Open to young – 35 or under – academics, researchers and policymakers from all European countries, the Award was launched for the first time in 2004 and has been running as a pilot project for four years (2004-2007).

Issues covered so far range from the raison d’être of a European cultural policy, creative industries in South-East Europe, comparison of trends in funding, governance and organizational structure of live classical music organizations, and issues of diversity and the commodification of culture in the cultural industries (focus on architecture, fashion and music).

The award represents an important achievement for a young researcher while it also contributes to capacity-building within the discipline and the production of new knowledge. The CPRA has indeed widened the map of young cultural policy researchers, since more than 75 of them were discovered through the annual competition. Some applicants are already well known, some names are new to the field. For all of them, the CPRA proved to be an opportunity to carry out a research project of their interest and to gain visibility and recognition on European level.

For the year 2008, applications must be submitted between 21st February and 23rd May 2008 through the online application form on the CPR Award website. Before applying, candidates are strongly advised to consult the website for advice on how to prepare their applications.

Deadline: 23/05/08 – before


Square Sainctelette, 19
B-1000 Bruxelles
phone: +

back to top

We value your privacy

To make sure that this website remains accessible in the European Union, we are forced to include this superfluous notice to inform you that this website, like most of the websites in the world, works best with cookies. We do not profile you or use the data for any commercial purposes except to study ways to enhance user experience in ours sites. We hope that you are happy with that, and that you will help us continue this research by accepting our cookies but, unlike with other websites, surfing our site in privacy is still possible should you decide not to. You can find out more about our use of cookies by reading our privacy policy.