1st Architecture, Art and Landscape Biennial of the Canaries


The Biennial of the Canaries is conceived as a singular event that intentionally reflects the specificities of the territory. The southern frontier of Europe, the Canary Islands is a singular, strategically located, North African Atlantic archipelago comprising seven highly different islands, whose shared trait is their common volcanic origin. They are a crossroads of many cultures, of communications, of people, of goods, of trade.

Accordingly, the Biennial is conceived as a fragmentary event extending throughout the whole of the territory of the Canaries.

The idea is to underscore and activate countless singular spaces (both constructed and natural) on the archipelago through a series of 70 artistic actions, paying special attention to the continents of Africa, America and Europe, and featuring a significant representation of contemporary creation produced in these regions, which are rounded off with theoretical encounters in which renowned experts in various disciplines will be taking part.

Featuring artists, architects, critics, curators, educators and other intellectuals and, therefore, from a free, open and imaginative space, the Biennial will address key issues for the future of these islands, like the limit to sustainable growth, the scarcity of natural resources, mobility and communication, cultural diversity, the increasing pressure of urban development, the public space and landscape, all tackled from an essentially territorial perspective.

The Biennial of the Canaries is directed by Rosina Gómez-Baeza

The members of the Scientific Committee of the Architecture Section are:
Miriam Arricivita, Manuel Feo, Juan Antonio González Pérez, Virgilio Gutiérrez, Arsenio Pérez Amaral, Flora Pescador, José Antonio Sosa, Juan Torres

Art Section:
Curator: Antonio Zaya

Participating artists:
Adel Abdessemed, Eija-Liisa Ahtila, Jaafar Akil, Fernando Álamo, Alexis W., Allora and Calzadilla, Alexander Apóstol, Hamdi Attia, Kader Attia, Juan Carlos Batista, Karina Beltrán, Thami Benkirane, Ursula Biemann, Eelco Brand, Olaf Breuning, Sergio Brito, Mircea Cantor, Jordi Colomer, Alfonso Crujera, Salomé Cuesta / Bárbaro Miyares, Fabiana de Barros / Michel Favre, Allan deSouza, Ángel Delgado, Amal Kenawy, Hala Elkoussy, Jon Mikel Euba, Regina Galindo, Carmela García, Kendell Geers, Ori Gersht, Juan Hidalgo, Alfredo Jaar, Concha Jerez / José Iges, Won Ju Lim, Kcho, Mahmoud Khaled, Ellen Kooi, Pablo León de la Barra, Juan López, Rogelio López Cuenca, Guillermo Lorenzo, Sara Maneiro, Ángel Marcos, Mona Marzouk, Mateo Maté, José Román Mora, David Moratón, Mosco, Nato, Shirin Neshat, Otobong Nkanga, Noxer, Open Circle, Germán Paez, Jesús Palomino, Maria Papadimitriou, Cecilia Paredes, Ester Partegás, Key Portilla Kawam ura, PSJM, Younes Rahmoun, Juan Carlos Robles, Julian Rosefeldt, José Ruiz, Ruth Sacks, Teresa Serrano, Siner, Skuf, Javier Tellez, Johan Thom, Torolab, Anton Vidokle / Julieta Aranda, Miwa Yanagi, Z (Club)/ Nestor Torrens

back to top

We value your privacy

To make sure that this website remains accessible in the European Union, we are forced to include this superfluous notice to inform you that this website, like most of the websites in the world, works best with cookies. We do not profile you or use the data for any commercial purposes except to study ways to enhance user experience in ours sites. We hope that you are happy with that, and that you will help us continue this research by accepting our cookies but, unlike with other websites, surfing our site in privacy is still possible should you decide not to. You can find out more about our use of cookies by reading our privacy policy.