9th Bienal do Mercosul


The curatorial proposal for the Ninth Edition of the Mercosul Biennial conceptually focuses on the interaction between nature and culture, and the ways in which visual artists address unknown, unpredictable and seemingly uncontrollable phenomenon.

Curatorial Concept

The promises of the 9th Bienal do Mercosul l Porto Alegre are to identify, propose and repurpose changing belief systems and appraisals of experimentation and innovation. It intends to raise ontological and technological questions through artistic practice, object making and nodes of experience. This edition of the biennial can be considered an environment in which to encounter natural resources and material culture in a new light, and to speculate on the bases that have marked distinctions between discovery and invention, as well as the values of both sustainability and entropy.

The 9th Bienal do Mercosul | Porto Alegre is curated in three components: the exhibition Portals, Forecasts and Monotypes including existing and new work, projects created through collaborative commissions, performances and screenings; the initiative “Island Sessions”, involving field trips, discussions and an online publication, and a five-month art pedagogy program, “Cloud Formations”, designed for teachers, mediators, and the curious.

Participating artists

Aleksandra Mir (1967, Poland); Anthony Arrobo (1988, Equador); Audrey Cottin (1984, France); Aurélien Gamboni & Sandrine Teixido (1979, Switzerland); Beto Shwafaty (1977, São Paulo, Brasil); Bik Van der Pol – Liesbeth Bik (1959, The Netherlands) e Jos Van der Pol (1961, The Netherlands); Cao Fei (1978, China); Cinthia Marcelle (1974, Belo Horizonte, Brasil); Christian Bök (1966, Canada); Daniel Santiago (1985, Colombia); Daniel Steegmann Mangrané (1977, Spain); Danilo Christidis (1983, Porto Alegre, Brasil); David Medalla (1942, Philippines); David Zink Yi (1973, Peru); Edgar Orlaineta (1972, Mexico); Eduardo Kac (1962, Rio de Janeiro, Brasil); Eduardo Navarro (1979, Argentina); Elena Damiani (1979, Peru); Erika Verzutti (1971, São Paulo, Brasil); Faivovich & Goldberg – Guillermo Faivovich (1977, Argentina) e Nicolás Goldberg (1978, France); Fernanda Gassen (1982, São João do Polêsine – RS, Brasil); Fernanda Laguna (1972, Argentina); Fernando Duval (1937, Pelotas – RS, Brasil); Fritzia Irizar (1977, Mexico); George Levantis (Great Britain); Gilda Mantilla & Raimond Chaves – Gilda Mantilla (1967, USA) e Raimond Chaves (1963, Colombia); Grethell Rasúa (1983, Cuba); Hans Haacke (1936, Germany); Hope Ginsburg (1974, USA); Jason Dodge (1969, USA); Jessica Warboys (1977, Great Britain); Jorge Villacorta (1958, Peru); Juan José Gurrola (1935 – 2007, Mexico); Koenraad Dedobbeleer (1975, Belgium); Katia Prates (1964, Porto Alegre, Brasil); Leonardo Remor (1987, Ipiranga do Sul-RS, Brasil); Leticia Ramos (1976, Santo Antonio da Patrulha-RS, Brasil); Liudvikas Buklys (1984, Lituania); Lucy Skaer (1975, Great Britain); Luis F. Benedit (1937 – 2011, Argentina); Luiz Roque (1979, Cachoeira do Sul-RS, Brasil); Malak Helmy (1982, Egypt); Marta Minujín (1943, Argentina); Michel Zózimo (1977, Santa Maria-RS, Brasil); Mario Garcia Torres (1975, Mexico); Mira Schendel (1919 – 1988, Switzerland); Nicholas Mangan (1979, Australia); Nicolás Bacal (1985, Argentina); Pratchaya Phinthong (1974, Thailand); Rodrigo Derteano (1979, Switzerland); Romy Pocztaruk (1983, Porto Alegre, Brasil); Robert Rauschenberg (1925 – 2008, USA); Sara Ramo (1975, Spain); Sandrine & Aurélien – Sandrine Teixido (1974, França) e Aurélien Gamboni (1979, Switzerland); Suwon Lee (1977, Venezuela); Tarek Atoui (1980, Líbano); Tania Pérez Córdova (1979, Mexico); Thiago Rocha Pitta (1980, Minas Gerais, Brasil); Tony Smith (1912 – 1980, USA); Trevor Paglen (1974, USA); The Otolith Group – (London, Great Britain); Tiago Rivaldo (1976, Porto Alegre, Brasil); Zhenia Kikodze (1967, Georgia); Willian Raban (1948, Great Britain)

Historic artists:

Juan José Gurrola (1935 – 2007, Mexico); Luis F. Benedit (1937 – 2011, Argentina); Mira Schendel (1919 – 1988, Switzerland); Robert Rauschenberg (1925 – 2008, USA); Tony Smith (1912 – 1980, USA)

h3, Curatorial team:

Sofía Hernández Chong Cuy is the artistic director and chief curator of the 9th Bienal do Mercosul | Porto Alegre. The curatorial team includes Mônica Hoff, ground curator and head of Cloud Formations; Raimundas Malašauskas, time curator; Bernardo de Souza, space curator; and curatorial cloud fellows: Sarah Demeuse, Daniela Pérez, Júlia Rebouças, and Dominic Willsdon. Luiza Proença is the editorial coordinator.

back to top

We value your privacy

To make sure that this website remains accessible in the European Union, we are forced to include this superfluous notice to inform you that this website, like most of the websites in the world, works best with cookies. We do not profile you or use the data for any commercial purposes except to study ways to enhance user experience in ours sites. We hope that you are happy with that, and that you will help us continue this research by accepting our cookies but, unlike with other websites, surfing our site in privacy is still possible should you decide not to. You can find out more about our use of cookies by reading our privacy policy.