The 23rd Prix Ars Electronica – International Competition for CyberArts is open for entries.

From its very inception in 1987, the Prix Ars Electronica has been conceived as an open platform for various disciplines at the intersection of art, technology, science and society. More than 3,000 submissions in 2008 have further enhanced the Prix Ars Electronica’s reputation as an internationally representative competition honoring outstanding works in the cyberarts. The aim of the competition is to continually keep the Prix Ars Electronica updated in line with leading-edge developments in the dynamic field of cyberarts.

This year, six Golden Nicas, twelve Awards of Distinction and approximately 70 Honorary Mentions as well as [the next idea] Art and Technology Grant and the Media.Art.Research Award are presented to participants. The 2009 winners will receive a total of 122,500 euros in prize money.

Prix Ars Electronica 2009
Online Submission Deadline: March 6, 2009


  • Computer Animation / Film / VFX
  • Digital Musics
  • Interactive Art
  • Hybrid Art
  • Digital Communities
  • [the next idea] Grant
  • Media.Art.Research Award
  • u19 – freestyle computing