New York City
Jennifer McSweeney, Director of the Penny McCall Foundation (PMF), today announced the winners of the inaugural Ordway Prize, one of the most generous international art prizes in the world. The winner in the category of artist is Colombian artist Doris Salcedo, and the winner in the category of curator and/or arts writer is Ralph Rugoff. To be given biennially, the Ordway Prize - with awards this year totaling $230,000 - recognizes individuals in mid-career who have made important contributions to the field of contemporary arts and letters. The winners each received an unrestricted monetary award of $100,000.

The 2005 winners were selected from among six finalists nominated by a distinguished panel of artists, curators, writers, museum professionals, scholars, philanthropists, and leaders in the field of contemporary art, all of whom were invited by Ms. McSweeney to participate in the selection process. The four remaining finalists, artists Sam Durant and Senga Nengudi, and curators and arts writers Lynne Cooke and David Rimanelli, each received awards of $7,500.