The Aldrich Contemporary Art Museum is pleased to announce that Kara Walker has been selected as the recipient of the prestigious Larry Aldrich Award for 2005. The Aldrich will present a new DVD video by Walker in 2006.

The annual Larry Aldrich Award honors an American artist whose work has had a significant impact on contemporary visual culture during the previous three years. An independent jury of artists, collectors, critics, curators, and gallerists selects the winner. Since 1995, the honoree has received $25,000 and the opportunity for an exhibition at The Aldrich. Previous winners of the Award are Catherine Opie, 2004; David Hammons, 2003; Fred Wilson, 2002; Mark Dion, 2001; Doug Aitken, 2000; Janine Antoni, 1999; Ann Hamilton, 1998; Charles Ray, 1997; Robert Gober, 1996; Bruce Nauman, 1995; Cindy Sherman, 1994; and Elizabeth Murray, 1993.